Star Trek is Srs Bsns

 

Image

A few months ago I challenged myself to do 101 things in 1001 days. I did it because I was feeling crap, hardly able to stay awake and my diabetic control was long flushed down the toilet. I needed something to focus on. Some things are simple enough like baking with my little brother or re-watching the Lord of the Rings movies. Others are more challenging like a challenge to ‘walk to Hogwarts’ and I did that by walking the distance from Harry Potter’s house in Surrey to ‘Hogwarts’ in Scotland. I’m a geek ok? At the time it seemed impossible. I had to walk an average of 7000 steps a day for several months and I was in bits. Yet I did it. To be fair getting my dog helped.

Another of my challenges is to go to the cinema by myself. I love the cinema but the thought of going alone sets me into quite the anxious tizz. I don’t know why I think of it as strange but I do? I know I see people there alone all the time but the thought of doing it personally was a big deal. And then Star Trek happened.  My friends are not that fussed at the Star Trek films but I want to see Star Trek: Into Darkness so bad! So, I’ve decided that anxiety be damned I ruddy well will. If I don’t go alone I won’t be going and I hate missing out on things because of my anxiety. So, this is the task I’m setting for myself. I’m going to try make it easier by going at a quiet time in the morning during the week when hopefully there should be less people around. I’m going to conquer my anxiety for a few hours and enjoy myself. I’m hoping that by putting it  here I will have even more motivation to make it happen.

Then when I succeed I’m going to go next door to Pizza Hut and screw up my diabetes as a reward XD

Leave a Reply

