Dblog 2 – Parents Out, Kids In for parts of appointments

Recently various petitions have been circulating the Diabetes Online Community, so today let’s pretend to write our own. Tell us who you would write the petition to – a person, an organization, even an object (animate or inanimate) – get creative!! What are you trying to change and what have you experienced that makes you want this change?

This is kind of strange for me because I have written petitions and had them all fail I might add. They were all diabetes related and about getting my my insulin pump but NHS Scotland is getting a lot more funding these days. I know the NHS in the rest of the UK is being butchered but we’re protected from that by having a sensible (sometimes) government when it comes to health in Edinburgh. Don’t tell them I said that. They might get ideas.

It is hard to think. In many ways I’m luck with my diabetes care. If I tell my doctor I need more strips I get them. If I use more insulin in a month and go back for more he doesn’t question it. He is rather diabetes savvy so that helps and I don’t deal with one endo long enough to develop issue  with them.

Having a wee think, I think I shall get my radical side out. I would petition the NHS for teenage diabetics to have a time in their appointments where their parents are not present. I’ve brought up this subject in my blog before but teenagers have this tendency to lie a lot about sex, periods and their emotions in front of their parents yet all these things have huge impacts on their diabetes control. I’m not saying kick parents out all together once you are packed off to the teen clinics, I’m saying have five minutes at the end where the ‘what we’re doing now’ part is agreed that the doctor can ask the questions like ‘are your periods regular?’, ‘are you suffering form erectile dysfunction?’ and the one most teens are likely to lie about ‘are you sexually active?’ . Some say they are only children but they are children living with a very serious disease and omitting information has long lasting side effects.

I know because I liked myself blue about my periods and maybe if I hadn’t I would have had my endomitriosis discovered a lot sooner, and more importantly if I was honest about how I felt I would have got an earlier diagnosis of anxiety and depression thus getting the help I need. That help would have allowed me to better manage my diabetes in stressful situations like my exams. If a young diabetic already feels like a burden to their parents because of their illness or already resents the impact diabetes has on their lives they are less likely to admit to something else being abnormal or their feelings. It is hard enough to do such things without parents present. 

If something is found that the parent needs to know about then of course bring them back in and talk it out but just because a person is not of age doesn’t mean they are less of a person and less deserving of patient to doctor confidentiality in some situations.

Leave a Reply

