Achievements

We don’t always realize it, but each one of us had come a long way since diabetes first came into our life. It doesn’t matter if it’s been 5 weeks, 5 years or 50 years, you’ve done something outstanding diabetes-wise. So today let’s share the greatest accomplishment you’ve made in terms of dealing with your (or your loved one’s) diabetes. No accomplishment is too big or too small – think about self-acceptance, something you’ve mastered (pump / exercise / diet / etc.), making a tough care decision (finding a new endo or support group / choosing to use or not use a technology / etc.)

Going from  DKA and a HBA1C in the teens to a HBA1c of 7.0%. It took years but I did it and no matter how bad things are now I still have that achievement and it is a driving force in my life now. I know that with the right tools I can wrestle this disease into submission because I have done it before and I did it as a teenager which is when diabetes is arguably at its most volatile.
I left hospital at 10 a mess. I wasn’t taking all my injections. I wasn’t testing my blood. My mother was dealing with mental illness that meant she wasn’t watching me as closely as she had before and I had grown up with diabetes, I had lived with it for 4 years, I thought I could handle it myself.

They started watching me but I was at school and lunch times were all up to me. I didn’t test. I guessed insulin. I did it all wrong. I wanted to be better but I’d forget my blood kit trying to fit all my, ya know, school stuff into my bad and I had gone so long not testing that it really didn’t occur to me anymore. It took me years to drill testing back into my daily routine, for it to be natural again. I wanted to be like the other kids and not diabetic and at the same time I wanted to not feel sick all the time and it was a mental implosion. I should have seen a shrink but I didn’t and getting better took me a good four years by the end of things but I did it. I pushed my parents away and did it myself. The more they tried to tell me to do things the less I did them because I very much felt ‘what will I do when they are not here? I need to do this myself. Leave me alone I can do it’ ect. When I put my mind to it the knowing what insulin to take and when to take it was easy for me. I just had to pay attention. So my parents, after a couple of years of crying and arguments and watching me over my shoulder when they WERE around let me do it. I was fourteen and once left alone I felt I could do it for myself and I did. Within months I had my HBA1c down to 7% and felt awesome.

I will take my parent’s advice now and have since I was 14 or 15 but I’ve ignored a lot of it too and done just fine. At the end of the day it is my disease so I dealt with it. If my parents kept trying to control me I would probably have spent the last 10 years in and out of A&E.

Leave a Reply

