family dinner – an anxiety poem

Another poem I jotted down after surviving a family meal and then drinks in a pub. On a Friday night. Winner.

 

fifteen of us go to celebrate a birthday
all laughing and talking and oh so loud
my heart races at how busy it all is
i can feel my anxiety rising slowly
laughter rings in my ears and i fight
you won’t ruin this for me, i tell it

dinner is nice and i interact a little
i tell myself i can do it, and join them at the pub
not everyone goes, my safety net leaves
notes in a glass make me feel i need to stay
every penny is precious and i shouldn’t waste mine
rum and coke and laughter and cheer, i make it through

 

Leave a Reply

