Expectations and desires

Finding it hard to write things down about my pump meeting last night, so I wrote a poem about it instead. Big news is the pump is home with me. Live in November.

 

Expectations and desires
they want this machine.
I hate that I need it.

Box. Folder. Paperwork.
Sign this. Promise that.
Everything will be ok,
they say but they always do.

Screech. Chair out. Move room.
Learn this. Read that. Everything
is going to change, now.

Not quite though. Not right now.
Live comes later. It only drips
air now, the alarms sound
with empty warnings that
pull at my heart. Failure.
Must learn. Live soon.

Expectations that it will work.
Desires because it has to.
There is no other option.

One thought on “Expectations and desires

Leave a Reply

