1/31

1/31

I’m Sam. I’ve been diabetic for 16 and a half years now and deal with social and general anxiety, endomitriosis, fatigue, eczema, hypothyroidism, and tendinitis daily. Despite that I try to live my life to the full. I love history and am trying to get a BA but have had to put everything on hold for health reasons at the moment. Decided to do this blog challenge so that people can see a little more to me than the health stuff I ramble about. Connecting over health is awesome but it isn’t everything in friendship. 🙂

So as I mentioned I love history so I love museum trips, history books and every documentary I can get my greedy little hands on. For many months my history books were too difficult for me to read because of my health so I’m very excited to be able to read them again! Reading in general is a big thing for me. I read very quickly so I’ve always had several books on the go at once. It helps me appreciate each one more. Harry Potter is my first love. I have a kindle and I love paperbacks so I read one of each all the time. My kindle is fabulous for when I’m travelling as I also have a weak back so carrying around tombs isn’t great for me. Plus, free kindle books tyvm.

I’m a huge sports fan. I don’t take part because I lack co-ordination and prefer to arse about on my wii-fit if I want to get active. Sports are huge thing for my mental health too. Watching Real Madrid play football makes me happy. Really though, people think I am being ridiculous when I say Real Madrid matches got me through my depressed teen years when I didn’t have meds but having 90 minutes where I can focus my anxiety into something that rewards me with excitement, joy and laughter is an amazing thing for me.I also love tennis and am a huge Andy Murray fan. I was one of those rare Scots shaking their fists and insisting from the beginning that he would win a Major. He is another way of channeling my emotions because he doesn’t do calm matches…ever. Formula 1 is my third sport but I don’t enjoy that as much as I used to. Too predictable these days for me. I’m an Alonso fan through and through though.

I’m a gamer! My games I love because my health can be in the toilet and I can still blow things up. Even if I can’t concentrate enough to read, Halo doesn’t really require too much thinking. I don’t do strategy on games like that. I point. I shoot. I move on. Hasn’t failed me yet. So um yes, Halo games, Sonic the Hedgehog forever and always, Crash freaking Bandicoot. Croc! Spyro! Age of Empires franchise. Whether that is mythology or any of the sequel games I love them all. Played the original so much the disk gave up on me. A great way to distract myself and get out my distraction is to send my armies upon some unsuspecting baddie who has what I want. Civ, and Doom and Settlers were my childhood. Though I’m also a ridiculously huge Pokemon fan. I can chat your ear off about pokemon teams and tactics. My tactic is Halo. Point. Attack. None of this paralyzing stuff.

I’m an animal lover. I have a cat and a dog and I love them lots. I re-homed my cat and I take my dog training very seriously so I can provide him with the best life possible where he can be happiest. I’m one of those people that sits in the corner at gathering making friends with the pets.

I’m a feminist, a Scottish nationalist, a fighter for equality, a sister, a daughter, a friend, a student, a geek, a fangirl, and most importantly far more than my health conditions could ever tell you about me.

 

560797_623165021037903_69010283_n

Leave a Reply

