4 HBA1C

4 HBA1C

I had to go rooting for paperwork for this. It was last done in February and they only test mine once a year under DAFNE. 8.6 which is 70 apparently.

I have many feelings about this. First, horror. It is out of target! I want to bash it with sticks. My second reaction is LIES. 8.6. It isn’t actually that bad as a number. For example as a child it was the HBA1c I was asked to aim for. So I know it isn’t ‘bad’ by itself. But I also know it is a lie. It makes me look like a healthy diabetic and I’m not. The HBA1C test matters in the long run against complications but it means very little in the present if the average is constructed by a wide range of numbers. For example, if my blood sugar stays between 8 and 10 you’re going to get a HBA1C that reflects that and is TRUE. My bloods swing between in target 5-7 and outrageous 20-25s with allt he numbers in between. That is not good control. It means I have been signed as medically unfit to work or attend education, but it produces a HBA1C a lot of diabetics would give their arm for if they thought it was consisting of stable numbers. Mine isn’t though. My HBA1C is a lie that makes it harder for me to attain the help I need from the medical professionals who don’t understand diabetes because hey, that number isn’t bad, you’re fine! No, I’m not fine. I’m so very very not fine. I used to let my HBA1C rule my life. Now I don’t pay it all that much mind. I know it is safe in the long run. The numbers on the meter have to be what matter to me now. Those are the numbers actually teling me the truth.

Leave a Reply

