Dblog 4 – Coping

Yesterday we opened up about how diabetes can bring us down. Today let’s share what gets us through a hard day. Or more specifically, a hard diabetes day. Is there something positive you tell yourself? Are there mantras that you fall back on to get you through? Is there something specific you do when your mood needs a boost? Maybe we’ve done that and we can help others do it too?

Is Wine a legit answer? Probably not all that healthy. On a serious note, rewards. I reward myself constantly these days for getting through. Sometimes yes that is a nice bottle of Sauvingnon Blanc and other times it is the 35p Tiger bread baguette you can get in Asda. Sometimes I swipe calories from tomorrow out my meal plan and have cheese on toast for supper. It is those little rewards that make it easier. Another thing is making my hypo treatments cool things. I prefer tropical dextrose tabs so I will hunt high and low for them because hypos suck ok? They suck less when I can stomach what I’m treating them with. I haul around orange lucozade because I can’t stomach those little coke cans the hospital likes and I’m not a big jelly baby fan.

With other aspects of life I have other plans but with diabetes it is about food.

It is about food because diabetes centres around food. Some will claim it won’t but unless you live on water for a week and then die it does. It is all about what you eat, when you eat it and what you plan to do around the next 5 hours around that plate. Disagreeing is kidding ourselves as diabetics. Even if we have carb free meals we get nervous and check our blood to make sure, make sure, make extra sure those basals are right and we’re ok right? All about food. So when I have a bad day? Food. Most of the time plain ass carbs I can count without worry. I like to make a toastie, have some crackers or get that extra cheesy bag of Mccoy’s crisps.

For me it is about telling myself that while one part of my day is bad I can still find the good. Tomorrow might not be that bad. It might be though. Let’s be honest it might but right NOW, I have my little baguette with Philadelphia spread and pastrami in and I’m loving life. It is saying ok today was rubbish but there is some wine there so let’s have a glass and put on a good film or catch up on that last episode of Marvel Agents of Shield. It is about clawing back the day, even for half an hour. I use food because diabetes can’t take that until later, until outside the moment. I could see read X or play Y but my brain might not cope with that after a bad D day so I find the things I know I can do. Sure I may need to watch that episode again to really get it but I will still zone out and if I ‘m that bad I’m not likely to realise it at the time. It is about rewarding the human me with human things and putting the diabetic to the side after diabetes has taken the rest of the day. It is important and it gets me through.

Leave a Reply

