Dblog 5

Share the (non-medical) tips and tricks that help you in the day-to-day management of diabetes. Tell us everything from clothing modifications, serving size/carb counting tricks to the tried and true Dexcom-in-a-glass trick or the “secret” to turning on a Medtronic pump’s backlight when not on the home-scree. Please remember to give non-medical advice only!

Image

Image

I don’t think there really are obvious hacks as such. Shortcuts never end well with this disease. Tips? Maybe. I always order my prescription a week before most people would because then if something goes wrong there is time to sort it. I don’t want to be that person screaming at the pharmacist because they are out of stock you know? If I’m ahead it is an annoyance, not dangerous and so less stressful.

I carry glucose tabs around even though I prefer lucozade cause they weigh less and I don’t feel the weight and get irked about how much diabetes is causing other issues like back pain or how I can’t fit as much as others into my bag. I make sure my emergency kit for my pump is in a brightly coloured bag I really like so again, I don’t think about the space and weight it takes up. I have an iron on bright blue butterfly on my blood kit so it looks more cheerful and less like a torture set up.

A lot of my carb guessing when I’m out and about isn’t something I can pass on or describe. It is the result of combined knowledge from my mother and myself and a healthy dose of sheer dumb luck when it goes right. Plenty of times it goes wrong. Maybe I have more things but I’ve been at this game a long time so they just are part of it all now. I don’t know where diabetes stops and I begin, where the rules and the tips and hacks meld. I just get on with it the best I can.

Leave a Reply

