Death’s Door

Diabetics face death every day and that is a weird thought. Every hypo could kill me. Every hyper could kill me. I don’t think about it often but it is true. My set change last night worked…until it didn’t. Something happened to my tubing overnight and I woke up feeling rough as heck with a glucose in the 20s and lots of lovely ketones. I’m lucky my parents went on holiday this morning so I was woken up early, really early, and so caught my dawn phenomenon before it could run away and cause some real damage. I mean, more than it did. I don’t throw up when my bloods are high but I do when I go into DKA and this morning found me hovering over the loo thinking I was going to be sick. I wasn’t but I was close and that hit home hard. 

 

Technically I was dying this morning. My body started to slip into DKA. I was poisoning myself. I felt terrible. An insulin pump can very quickly bring you down and so I was lucky. I hugged a bottle of water in bed and tried to ignore the way my stomach squirmed. Maybe if I was still on injections it would have been more of an ordeal. I have nothing against MDI at all but I can’t ignore facts and personally my pump brings me down a hell of a lot quicker than MDI ever did. But, what sort of life is this? Who lives a life where facing death is a normal thing? Who lives a life where facing death is not a once in a lifetime thing but something you constantly do for whatever reason whether within your control or not. 

 

It annoys me that people don’t think diabetes is a big deal. It is. All it takes is one failed set change. One missed injection and you can be on the brink. What sort of life is that to lead? 

Leave a Reply

